Explaining Color To The Blind

One day, I received this intriguing question on Ask.fm: “How would you explain color to a blind man?”. If you don’t know what Ask.fm is, it’s a social media where people can ask other people questions. And people can do it anonymously too.

I began to ponder on the question, how do you explain color to a blind man? Color evokes different reactions to different people. I’ve read a lot of different answers from people on ask.fm on this question. And some of them are good. I also wanted to give my definition of colors.  I chose to explain it using music, a sensory experience that a blind person can relate to and something really close to my heart & mind.

These are the music I chose to explain colors to a blind person.

White

For me the color white expresses timeless beauty, kindness, purity. The music of the color white would be Sergei Rachmaninoff’s 18th var Op.27.

Black

Black often symbolizes strength. But it is also the color of sorrow, of mystery. The music for the color black would be Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Requiem k.626 “Dies Irae”.

Green

Green is the color of life and nature. I see optimism and spirit in this color. So I chose Antonio Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons “Spring” part 1.

Yellow

Yellow, like a ray of sunshine. Radiant, soft, and warm. A color that suited Claude Debussy’s “Clair de Lune” Suite Bergamasque no.3.

Blue

The grandiose color that is blue. The color of the elegant ocean and the calming sky. Perfectly delivered by Johann Strauss II’s Opus 314 “The Blue Danube Waltz”.

Red

The color of our blood. That vibrant and vivacious hue. The banner of the bold and the brave. The sound of Johannes Brahms’ Hungarian Dance No.5 in G minor.

Leave a Reply

