Kids & Books

My son wanted to read George Orwell’s legendary “1984” from the book shelf in our living room. I think its content is too mature for his current age. So I got a bit concerned.

I offered him Nobel-prize winner William Golding’s “Lord of The Flies” instead. Also a dystopian novel, but I think much more suited for his consumption. He agreed.

Anyway, I’m glad my son still likes to read a book. It’s getting harder to find that quality in younger generations. With all their illuminated screens and always-on gadgets. Which is not always a bad thing. But I love to see people pick up and read books. Be it physical or digital. And I’m proud my son is one of them.

Leave a Reply

