Thank You, Prince

Growing up, I was a misfit. I spent my childhood years changing schools, not having many friends. As a teenager I was an introvert bordering on anti-social. I was that kid, the one who spent times alone on the cafeteria after school hours, the nerd who read books at the library during recess, and the boy whose sole social activity was playing in a band.

Then I met Prince. I listened to all of his brilliant songs on my old cassette player. I read all of the lyrics on his album sleeves. I devoured his music.

Prince told me that it is okay to be a misfit. It is fine to be an outcast. You’re weird, so what? It doesn’t matter if people can’t accept you. Embrace your strangeness. Be proud of your freaky self.

 

Prince helped my through my lonely years. I’m forever grateful for his music. I don’t idolize people, but Prince is truly the closest thing to an idol for me. His brilliance, boldness, controversies, creativity, defiance, shaped me. It made me who I am today.

For me, he was the greatest musician of the 20th century. Bigger than The Beatles, better than Michael Jackson.

Prince was a musician so talented he continued to influence artists for 3 decades. Look into social media, every major artists are paying tribute to his excellence. Even the POTUS himself. Not only for his talent, but also for his groundbreaking, pioneering acts.  Released his first album in 1978, he was only 19. But in that debut album, he wrote, played all the instruments, arranged, and produced the whole songs. He did this feat throughout his career. Despite his small physique, he was larger-than-life.

Prince has sold over 100 million records worldwide, making him one of the best-selling artists of all time. He won seven Grammy Awards, a Golden Globe Award, and an Academy Award. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2004, the first year of his eligibility. Rolling Stone ranked Prince at number 27 on its list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time. (Wikipedia)

He was an artist so bold he forced the government to create the Parental Advisory warning stickers. A man so determined in his defiance he changed his name to a symbol to fight the music record industry. There will never be another one like him. Justin Timberlake said in his tribute to Prince, he was a “once in a forever”. A virtuoso instrumentalist, a remarkable musician, a magnificent artist. This is truly a great loss. For music, for culture, for the world.

It was Raspberry Beret. I was 4 years old. Yes, 4. I remember that I instantly loved it. "Mommy, who is that singing?" Seems weird but it's true. More than a "once in a lifetime" artist… Just a ONCE IN FOREVER ARTIST. I'm still in shock as I write this and I feel this overwhelming grief. But, we should all turn away from that and HONOR this musician that changed all of our lives, our perspectives, our feeling, our whole being. From another planet? Probably. Royalty, for sure. Us worthy..? Laughable. They say don't meet your idols… That they let you down. But, some of my greatest, funniest (yes, he was hilarious), and most prolific encounters and conversations about music came from the moments that I spent with him. It would be silly to say that he has inspired our music… It's beyond that. He's somewhere within every song I've ever written. I am sad, but I will smile when I think of every second that I had the fortune of being in his company. We have lost our greatest living musician. But his music will never die. Prince, NOTHING COMPARES… #RIPPrince

A post shared by Justin Timberlake (@justintimberlake) on

 

So from the bottom of my heart, thank you for everything, Prince. Your music will always live. Your legend will be remembered for all time. And I am personally indebted for your music. Rest in peace, Your Purpleness.

Let’s go crazy!

"A strong spirit transcends rules." -Prince (picture by Anna Crow)

“A strong spirit transcends rules.” -Prince (1958-2016). Picture by Anna Crow.

Leave a Reply

